Ten Oak Ridge wrestlers advance to divisional tournament

By: Matt Long
-A +A
Oak Ridge advances 10 wrestlers to this weekend’s Division I North Wrestling Championships at Franklin High. Keaton Subjeck and Vince Waldhauser won the 145- and 160-pound weight classes, respectively, at the Delta River League championship tournament held at Pleasant Grove High School on Saturday. Cameron Miller (125), Alex Diaz (152) and Zach Claiborne (171) took second; Preston Dean (189) and Xavier Lopez (215) placed third, while Ryan Johnson (119), Taylor Ellerman (140) and Andrew Sylvester (285) finished fourth in their weight class. To advance to the Masters Tournament on Feb. 25-26, the wrestlers must place in the top-8 at the Divisional tournament this weekend. “It’s going to be tough,” Oak Ridge coach Casey Rhyan said. “We’ve never been in this division, but it’s the toughest one around with our league and Elk Grove and Vacaville in it. That’s basically the best teams around. There will be a lot of good wrestlers that don’t qualify.” Subjeck defeated Chip Hendricks from Ponderosa 20-3 to win the 145-pound league championship, while Waldhauser pinned Ponderosa’s Devon Nooner in the first period in the 160-pound class. Miller, Diaz and Claiborne also wrestled well despite losing in the finals. “I was happy with all those guys,” Rhyan said. “Cameron wrestled well and Alex beat Nick Troquato of Ponderosa in the semis after losing to him in the dual meet. It was a big win for Alex. He’s wrestling better than he ever has. Zach reached the finals by pinning Alex Hurlimann from Folsom for the third time this year. That’s the way Zach is; he can pin anyone at any time.” Dean, after losing to the top-seeded wrestler in the semis, defeated Ponderosa’s Jorden Marinelli to take third. “Ryan (Johnson) wrestled JV most of the year, but he was able to take fourth so that was impressive,” Rhyan said. Rhyan was also pleased with his junior varsity wrestlers. Sherman McVay (140), Eric Rohrer (215) and Jacob Proul (Hwt.) won league titles, while Eugene Cheong placed second at 215. Andrew Gularte (119), Anthony Gomez (145) and Jacob Hamilton (189) earned third-place finishes, while Johnny Ploke placed fourth at 140.